If you have skills, qualifications or experience that New Zealand needs you may be able to apply for a resident visa under the Skilled Migrant Category.

The Skilled Migrant Category is a points system based on factors such as age, work experience, your qualifications, and an offer of skilled employment. You must also be aged 55 or under, and meet English language, health, and character requirements.

How it works

1. Self-assessment
Check you meet the requirements and calculate your points
2. Submit an Expression of Interest (EOI)
Note the fees and offices information
Submit an EOI online
3. Receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA)
If you have 160 points or more, you’ll be selected from the EOI pool and may be sent an ITA
4. Submit a resident application
5. Receive your visa
If successful, you’ll be issued a resident visa.